Twitter account…. Deactivated

Not that I think more than a small handful of people may notice. But for the near future @marathal is AFK from Twitter. I do have our guilds twitter that I check once a day, and recently I created a personal one that I have added a few people that I thought of to include.

So why. Why go dark. I’m not going to say the whole Furguson thing was a reason, more of a tipping point I guess. I have a lot on my plate in real life. Working 50 hour weeks, having no vacation time, not having a pay raise in years, I do have a job, and I am thankful for that. I have elderly in laws that we try to help out when we can, I have my home to maintain, somewhere in there we do try to have a social life. And then I have WoW.

WoW consist of the Marathal Twitter, the Fates Call twitter, the MarathaBT Facebook, the Borean Tundra server Facebook group, being the Guild Leader of one of the best guilds I have ever belonged to. Oh and somewhere in there I do try to actually play some. WoW is my relaxing time. My time away from real life crap. The stuff most of us deal with every day.

So when it comes to social issues finding their way into my WoW time it gets a bit overwhelming. I understand there are issues from real life that people want to address in the game. I get it. I really do. And I support many people as best I can. But having the majority of my timeline flooded with tweets and re-tweets from people calling for justice. We demand this. We want that. Rabble rabble rabble.

I watch the news. I know what is going on. I have opinions similar to the majority of you. But I do my best to not flood your timelines with my opinion on a very sensitive subject. The Marathal account was created for WoW. And I prefer to keep it about the game as much as possible. So until I hear that it has calmed down some, and that many have moved on to champion another cause, I think he will stay tucked away in his little box of unknowing carefree existence.

D-07.0L

3 thoughts on “Twitter account…. Deactivated

Leave a Reply

