What if…

What if you had a really bad night. And not just one, but one of many nights filled with frustration, to a point you just close down your computer and go to bed questioning why you still play.

I have had quite a few like that recently. WoW, according to some is “stupid easy” and maybe for many it is. I am sure if any game I played in my teens were to come out today, it would be laughed at in its simplicity. But truth be told, back in the day they were hard.

I ask myself why am I still playing if I am not having fun. And part of it is a fear that if this is considered easy in the grand scope of games out there, and if I can’t play this, is gaming done for me? Is 40+ years of playing all sorts of game actually over?

I don’t think so. I am looking for that “oh cooooool” thing for me again. That aspect that has me anxious to get home and logged in. I know it is there. Maybe it’s something as simple as being a bit more powerful and confident as a player not afraid to solo that elite creature in my way. Maybe I need to lock up those demons pointing at me saying your a bad player, lol. You only do LFR, go play hello kitty you noob. Maybe I have let opinions influence me too much.

2 thoughts on “What if…

  1. I actually just took a week off from the game and went back to it last night – really got away from the negativity that I was feeling about my playing style. Really helped a lot to step back and realize that I was just getting stuck with a bad thing for a while – now, I think that I am going to continue to have fun and find all kinds of fun things to do.

    Good luck and I hope things get better for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

