Klaatu Berada Nict…cough cough. 

Ok then…That’s it. 
And pretty much that is where I am at the moment. Oh, I have a chance to maybe get one last piece of 705 gear off Kazzak, I can farm up 48 more Felblight to have an alt make me the trinket upgrade to 6/6 715 iLvL. Which will have me at about 698/699. I did the first wing of the final LFR 2 weeks ago. I guess Tuesday I will do the second. I figure some time in September I will have my 1 run through for the story. But honestly, I didn’t feel like there was much story in there. At least not like Mists where Cho would rattle off some history as you were preparing for the last boss. It felt very underwhelming to do. 

Maybe it’s me. It must be me. Everything has felt disjointed. Kind of like the comment, what if the Earth was just some science experiment that some kid got a D on for a grade. Maybe I have been playing to long. Maybe this is the feeling all those people I have followed for years get when they say they are taking a break. 

I don’t want to take a break. I want to work towards something that has some meaning. Going in and fighting 13? 14? Bosses over and over on ever increasing difficulties has no appeal anymore. Doing Dungeons for rewards that have no use, even doing the hardest versions are not grabbing me. The motivation is not there. And partly because of the way the story arc has spanned the 3 expansions. 

We never got to defeat Garrosh, we never saw the trial, and the escape, that could have been a huge motivational scenario. And the ball was dropped big time IMO. We got dumped into a fast pace rush to get our Garrison started and Ok then…that’s it. Thrall finishes the job in a short cinematic. We are not a part of it. We were not present. If he could have dealt with him that simply, why did we even have the entire story to begin with. 

Oh, I now see the plans Garrosh has. BrB hero, wavy jazz hands, kapow. Ok where were we. Let’s go grab a cold one. 

Garrosh was brought here for a reason, it was kind of hinted at, and then we have Guldan, which it seems is just another link to the next expansion. And it won’t surprise me one bit if once again the previous expansion bad guy is dispatched without needing us, so that we can advance faster to the next part of the story. 

What I think is missing is we want to be the reluctant hero. The one that steps up to fight for what’s right. Being a pawn to these leaders who are playing a different game than us is heading down a wrong path. 

Take the trial. We were the ones that caught him. How motivating would it have been to have been there as the great assault to cover his escape would have been if we were there fighting to stop him. To have found out he escaped to an alternate version back in time, and we needed to finish the job.  

Telling a good story, having us participate in the telling, having a cliff hanger, wanting us to jump right back in to keep going, to press on. That had been missing for me. I just have the feeling no matter how involved I choose to be, that in the next expansion, some big name will just say a few words, and Guldan will be done, and on to the next. 

I am certain there will be a lot of design choices made that will make a lot of peoe unhappy. More class homogination to a point that anyone can pick up any class and lay it, but it will require exceptional skill to play it well. 

I don’t want to be saying a year from now after hitting level 110, ok then…that’s it. I want to be up front fighting not alongside these leaders, but having them fighting alongside me, because now I am the powerful force to be feared, the one that is called upon to save the day. Not the guy that goes to get a book so someone else can fix things. 

One thought on “Klaatu Berada Nict…cough cough. 

  1. “Take the trial. We were the ones that caught him. How motivating would it have been to have been there as the great assault to cover his escape would have been if we were there fighting to stop him. To have found out he escaped to an alternate version back in time, and we needed to finish the job.

    Telling a good story, having us participate in the telling, having a cliff hanger, wanting us to jump right back in to keep going, to press on. That had been missing for me. I just have the feeling no matter how involved I choose to be, that in the next expansion, some big name will just say a few words, and Guldan will be done, and on to the next. ”

    Someone, several someones, at blizzard needs to see this. This could have made WoD make some sense, instead of the disjointed, random storyline that we got It could have made us feel somewhat invested.

    And then your last sentence makes a sadly realistic prediction.

    I am still catching upon the news so there is much I don’t know yet. Despite the “we heard your complaints” statement I’m not sure that they did. Off to read more and find out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

