Can one person change the world

tumblr_n4fprhSD2Y1rifsi9o1_500

Yes, I will be the first to admit I have been a part of the problem with not only LFR, but even in the game itself.  I can be critical of design that makes portions of the game inaccessible to me, can express frustration when I see people treat others with little or no respect, can probably write for hours on the littlest of things I can see problems with.  But I can also see the good, see the potential, see the possibilities.

I am not saying that I will only focus on what is right, or even what is right for me.  I care about not only the game, but the people I play with daily, those that chose to spend their time in Azeroth on Borean Tundra, or even our joined server Shadowsong.  I care for all of those that have stuck it out, through good times and bad.  We all came to this game at different times during the games lifespan, even at different ages.  We are Single, Married, have friends and family that play, even those that play alone.  There was some thing in the framework of this experience that caught our attention and held it.

I chose the other day to try to do something to save LFR.  Try to save what it has to offer to those that choose to run it.

I would like to share a poem by Dylan Thomas.

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

We, as players, should not just accept that LFR and the state of the game is what it is.  That our opinions and ideas have no value, that there is nothing any one person can do, that trying to change things is just crazy talk.

change-the-world-steve-jobs

Yes, I will agree that one person cannot fix or change everything.  But all one person has to do, is make another believe it is possible, and those two people can convince two more, eventually, things can change for the better.  If we only try.  I know I cannot do this all alone, I am sure I will have doubts, have moments of despair, even feel like giving up at times.  I have just decided for myself, that I have to try.  Have to make even the littlest gesture, trying to make one persons day brighter but helping them with a question, just giving them something so that they can meet a minimum level to run a dungeon or raid.

7ee631b16f7ac8957c870dac94118b8e

2 thoughts on “Can one person change the world

Leave a Reply

