Dear Mr. Morhaime,

Not that I have any thoughts that this will ever cross @MikeMorhaime computer screen, but I wanted to ask something. And Twitter is far to limiting at 140 characters.

Dear sir, 

I have played World of Warcraft for coming up on 7 years. I have enjoyed years of time playing. I have to say that in 40 odd years of gaming, Warcraft has kept me involved far longer than any other game I have ever played. While the game has gone through changes, so too have I. I am no longer as quick with reaction times, have a bit more difficulty keeping track of multiple effects, etc. in short. I’m getting older. I am sure you can relate. We have both seen wondrous advances in our life time, and cannot even guess at what we may see in the next 10 to 20 years. 

I am writing to you today, because that’s what I would like to know from you. Oh, I don’t mean to ask for specifics, or hints at story ideas. But in general, what is in store for Warcraft. Are there plans for the game to continue 10 years from now? 20?  I ask because for me, I would love to continue playing. To see how new technology and innovations will shape how what we see and play today will look like years from now on a game title I have grown to love. 

I am now on my 3rd computer for playing WoW, if I include my wife, we are on our 5th and 6th. It is no small investment to continue to play, and I do appreciate all the effort you put into making a game that can be played for many years, before an upgrade may be needed. 

But at some point there has to be an end. Either for myself, when I can no longer play because of age, or for you, when you may decide hopefully years from now to end the story started all those years ago. I guess sir what I am asking, is if I am willing to keep on playing, will you be there ahead of me thinking of new adventures for me to experience in the World of Warcraft. 

Leave a Reply

