Last night was just wrong

On Tuesday, I tried to do what I normally do. Find a group using the group finder for a normal Archimonde kill to get the token to upgrade the Legendary ring, another 3 points. I have committed myself to doing this, because if you are raiding, it is just too powerful to not have.

For many weeks it has been relatively painless. Yes I have been declined on many an occasion because of my lowly 724 gear level for groups looking for 700 minimum. The groups I have run for the most part have gone well with perhaps 1 wipe at low health due to just bad luck. On Tuesday, after applying to numerous groups, I got into a Manno/Arch ring upgrade, leader Mythic experienced group. 695 minimum.

They filled the group to 25 people. Everyone went through the motions, and the majority of the people tunneled the boss and we wiped at 17%. I was second in damage and DPS. So of course I was kicked. Because I was focusing the adds, and not the boss. Yeah I know. So I figured I would shake it off and try later in the week.

Last night I logged in. Flew out to the entrance, went through the normal searching, and found a group on Manno. The leader, and the majority, I think spoke Spanish. I’m not sure, but we got him down fairly well. And on to Arch, where the tank just pulled all the trash as only half the raid was even in the instance. To compound things, he pulled them all on to the point you zone back in. Eventually it all reset, and that tank dropped. 30 minutes in group finder later, we were ready to go.

The first wipe happened when only 4 of us went into the second banish and died. We were singled out because we were not killing the adds. When someone pointed out we were in the Banish group we were told they just ignore the second, because it’s only Normal. Another wipe had 3/4 of the group drop, so I said I’m sorry, thank you for the chance, and left also.

The next group I got into was a guild run with 4 people. We sat for a long time waiting to fill the group. The final person was a guildie they were waiting on. Many in the group were in 695 Baleful gear. I don’t mind. As long as everyone tries, everyone has to start somewhere. We wiped at 17%. Regrouped, second pull, 1 tank and a few others dropped group mid fight. Back to group finder, another group, people just ignoring mechanics. 5 took a lock portal and got shot it the air. Myself and 2 others ran back to be there 7 dead on impact. More drop. Eventually the conversation started getting ugly. As it sometimes does. We finally got someone in that knew the fight, set up groups properly, and we went again. After that wipe and many more leaving I had been at trying to do this for 4 hours, had hundreds in repairs. I whispered the person setting up groups, sorry I can’t anymore. He told me he understood, and thanks for doing the fight correctly.

When I logged out immediately after I was through. No more. I got the ring to 780. The last 15 points are not worth it. They acknowledged that having dailies in Pandaria was not a great idea, or at least I think they did. So why do they think that placing an item in game so powerful you practically must have it, but then force you into running a single fight 20 times, after spending the entire expansion grinding other parts multiple times is any better.

Personally they should have just given a token reward upgrade your ring to 755 after your first Normal kill, 775 for Heroic, and 795 for Mythic. But perhaps that is flawed because people would only do it once. I don’t know.

My experience these last two expansions with a Legendary things has shown me that giving everyone a chance at it is flawed. Going back to Cata, where every caster having a staff made fights trivial, has shown me that a Legendary item should be special. It should not be game breaking, nor should fights be designed with everyone in the raid having one. Because for me right now?  Seeing another one of these added to the game is likely to just make me in sub from the game.

I know that it is not the games fault. That it is the people. But when your subscribers are mostly those that have stayed because of the people. Perhaps you might want to look beyond those top 500 guilds, beyond those that push you to make things more difficult. And at what is making people get so hostile to others in a video game that it is driving others away.

Maybe we all shouldn’t be in raids. Maybe the flaw is encouraging as many as possible to get in to do them. I don’t have any answers. Only a firm belief that if this Artifact weapon that everyone will have to have, ends up being another expansion long grind fest of upgrades and forced multiple farming of things, I will grab the highest level regular weapon I have and just go play old content until I am finally so bored with repetition that I just do not log in one day, one week, one month, then not at all.

You may think oh, he is just one person, one sub doesn’t matter, but I am one person that tries his best to help others. And if I am gone, then that is one less person, willing to answer questions of new players not expecting anything in return. Running a guild where you don’t “have” to participate in certain content. I will just walk away one day. Fill out an exit survey and be gone.

 

Late day edit.

I think we all eventually get to a point where we have just had enough. Where the thoughts of running 20-25 mythic dungeons, or dozens of LFRs have no appeal and when faced with having to pug a run once a week becomes a pointless exercise when you find yourself disliking the reason you are in there. Personally I feel it was, is, a mistake to not offer valor to upgrade the gear they want you to acquire to raid. Kind of like saying hey great you want to PvP in Arena, here are world quests and dungeons we would like you to run. Aside from that, I do wish they would filter better the Oceanic realms or which ever we see routinely where the majority of the group is speaking a different launguage. You may as well let us queue with. Alliance. The directions given for fights are just as intelligible.

There has been a great deal of faith in the company lost from me these past 3 years. There are design goals they are pursuing that they are not expressing well to the players. Or perhaps not to ones like me. I see all the time people say, have faith. Legion will be fine. I want to believe. But before I commit myself to not just one but two accounts at a total of $840 for two years, I want to be sure that it will be worth it. Because right now it is just ok for me. The game does not have that burning desire to get home and logged in as soon as I can. If not for the people and the guild, I would have walked away before we ever entered Siege. I certainly hope they have looked at all of the reasons people have left, but also why people have stayed. Why they have held fair in a 12 year old game title. There is something that is magical about Warcraft. When you first step in and wander around, and there are no barriers keeping you to a fixed path. The freedom to explore, to progress at your own speed. To just enjoy an experience, has been lost in a way with the push to get not just one, but multiple characters to max, to do everything over and over. The experience has become diluted in its effort to allow people to have armies of alts. It’s like the dalies. You had a cap on them because you knew people would feel compelled to do them all. Adding more and more character slots is just doing the same. We all know someone with 10+ garrisons. People making hundreds of thousands of gold. It’s an addiction. And when in a month you cut it off, the outcry is going to make the flying thing seem like a whimper.

There have been a lot of mistakes made. By the players too. I just hope that the bridge can be repaired and that what is planned will have that feeling once again.

Im going to be quiet for awhile. Talking every day about the game with all of you is wonderful. But I think I may need a mental break from things. Some time to focus on finding that spark of enjoyment once again.

 

See you you all on the other side of the portal when we go back to fight a battle once again.

3 thoughts on “Last night was just wrong

  1. I’m in that mess right now and It’s hideous. It’s nice to know I’m not alone though, for whatever that is worth. I have to pug because my raid group isn’t doing lower and I need a lot of pieces out of HFC still on the toon I’m running. I have one terrible trinket, one pce of tier and all I get for my bonus rolls is gold. The loot system is terrible, Mythics aren’t going to address the pieces I need to make this hunter sing. I do them anyway and it’s a frustrating slog right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

