The Mage Tower Challenge

Is it a challenge?

As a Verb certainly,

to summon to a contest of skill, strength, etc.

Certainly fits the definition as a noun

1. A call or summons to engage in any contest, as of skill, strength, etc.
2. Something that by its nature or character serves as a call to battle, contest, special effort
But I think many are using it as a synonym right now,
Question, disagree with, dispute, take issue with, protest against, call into
question.
It was hard. Like the old days trying to sneak into Northrend on a low level to get huge XP gains by discovering the first area or two before half the zone descended upon you to kill you dead. And not a noble valiant death sung about for the ages, about how you died battling 30 wild boars to have the last one finally take your last points of health. No, it was the hold your head in shame kind of death. The, yeah, that was stupid of me to even try. 
There is no disclaimer on the quest that is there. It’s right there on your map. The Mage Tower has been built, here is a quest for it. No mention that perhaps you may wish to equip yourself a little better champion, nope. A fresh 110 in quest greens can stroll right in, and promptly stroll right back out.
The Shadowpriest challenge started off with me meeting back up with the NPC trying to save his brother from the cultists. So I am right there off to his flank figuring the brother is going to attack him first. What caught me off guard was him using Mind Control and boom, now it’s two on one. I got knocked back by an attack and my screen was glowing red, I managed one long cast Vampiric touch to get the free Shadow word pain up, I tried to Silence the one, got hit a second time, and that was that. The initial dialog lasted longer than the fight.
I get it that this is the first week of patch 7.2, and not everyone is a highly skilled player in great Mythic over 900 gear, BiS Legendary items, maxed Artifact weapon, and 4pc Tier sets. But it was so over the top difficult, like say being in 840 gear and being tossed into The Arcway on Mythic +15 as your first exposure to a dungeon. It was so bad that the most I will be doing is tossing 500 resources at it for the achievement and never running it again this expansion oh and I have no doubt that at some point they will announce it will end with Legion, so make sure you get your skins now.
I would definitely say, this would be a good use for their gear scaling tech. They could analyze data on how certain levels of gear are performing for certain classes. But designing an encounter to be difficult to near impossible for the best players in the best gear?  
Good thing you gave the rest of us plenty to do in the world. Because for me, as an ok player that can get by, instanced content is becoming less and less appealing. And that is Raids, Dungeons of all levels, Scenarios, Proving grounds, and Chalkenge mode anything. I do not need special content to challenge me. I know what is a challenge for me and more than ever, the biggest is getting the desire to log in. I don’t need it to be super easy, but I don’t need to spend an evening dead running back to my corpse either.
Leave a Reply

